Cemetery & Funeral Home Records

Cemetery records and funeral home records are invaluable resources for genealogists. These records often contain detailed information that is not included in obituaries or official death certificates. For instance, they may list surviving relatives, which can help you trace family lines and connect with living descendants. Additionally, funeral home records might include personal anecdotes, religious affiliations, and details about the deceased's life and death circumstances. Utilizing these resources can significantly enhance your genealogy research, providing a richer and more complete family history.

Here is a blog post for more information called Using Cemeteries and Funeral Homes for Genealogy.

The Washington State Digital Archives boasts an extensive collection of cemetery records. These records, meticulously created by dedicated volunteers, have been digitized for easy access and preservation. While the collection is comprehensive, it does not include all of the cemeteries in the state. Each record provides fundamental information about the respective cemetery, ensuring a valuable resource for researchers and historians.

To navigate these collections, you can use the tabs on the left-hand side titled "Washington State Digital Archives: Collections by County." These tabs allow you to explore the cemetery records organized by county, making it simple to locate records from specific regions within Washington State. This organized system enhances the ease of access and usability of the archives for anyone conducting genealogical research or seeking historical data on cemeteries in Washington State. The full cemetery records collection on the Washington State Digital Archive is listed by cemetery name.