Have a question about what you're seeing? Hoping for some additional context?
The city and telephone directories are shelved alphabetically by the primary location. A single directory may include listings for multiple locations. Some smaller towns may be found within larger city directories or may have shifted between different cities' directories over time. Below is a list of cities and towns in the county including the years for which we have directories. The directory titles are displayed in blue—clicking on a title will take you to the catalog record for that directory and show the city under which it is shelved. If you need any assistance, please ask at the reference desk. Please note that the directories are available for on-site use only.
The Washington State Library boasts an extensive collection of city and county directories, with directories dating back to 1890 and continuing to the present day. These directories were typically published annually and provide detailed listings of the names, occupations, and addresses of residents.
All of the directories are listed in our online catalog. They are available for on site use only.
In addition to searching for directories in the catalog, we provide a resource that organizes city directories by county. The library also offers a guide featuring both city directories and telephone books, arranged by city.
Cole's Cross Reference Directory: Vancouver and Vicinity (1997-2008) missing some years
Cole's Cross Reference Directory: Vancouver and Vicinity (1997-2008) missing some years
Cole's Cross Reference Directory: Vancouver and Vicinity (1997-2008) missing some years
Cole's Cross Reference Directory: Vancouver and Vicinity (1997-2008) missing some years
R.L. Polk & Co.'s Vancouver and Clarke, Cowlitz, Skamania and Wahkiakum Counties Directory (1907-1916)
The Washington State Library has a large collection of telephone books for major and small towns in Washington. Telephone books were generally published annually and lists the names, addresses, and phone numbers of residents.
For the most up to date information, the telephone books are listed in our online catalog. To find the telephone books for a particular city, search by subject for "[city name] (Wash.) -- Telephone directories.
The telephone directories are available for on site use only.
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Longview-Kelso and Vicinity Telephone Directory (1940-1950) missing some years
Longview-Kelso Telephone Directory: Including Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Ryderwood, Skamokawa and Vader (1952-1957) missing some years
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Longview-Kelso: Including Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Ryderwood, Skamokawa and Vader (1962-1976) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Toledo, Washington (1964-2001) missing some years
Longview, Kelso, Castle Rock: Followed by Sections for Cathlamet-Skamokawa, Vader-Ryderwood (1976-1997) missing some years
Longview and Surrounding Area: Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Kalama, Kelso, Puget Island, Ryderwood, Skamokawa, Toutle, Vader, Followed by Separate Section for Rainier, OR (1997-2015) missing some years
Cathlamet: Skamokawa, Curtis, Pe Ell, Doty, Puget Island, Vader, Ryderwood (2001-2016) missing some years
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Ilwaco: Long Beach, Chinook, Ocean Park, Nahcotta, Seaview, Oysterville (1982-1996) missing some years
Pacific County: Bay Center, Chinook, Frances, Ilwaco, Lebam, Long Beach, Menlo, Nahcotta, Ocean Park, Oysterville, Raymond, Seaview, South Bend, Including Grays River, Naselle (1996-2014) missing some years
Cathlamet: Skamokawa, Curtis, Pe Ell, Doty, Puget Island, Vader, Ryderwood (2001-2016) missing some years
Northern Oregon Coast: Astoria, Seaside, Cannon Beach, Tillamook, Long Beach Peninsula and Surrounding Areas (2006-2010) missing some years
Longview-Kelso and Vicinity Telephone Directory (1940-1950) missing some years
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Knappa, Brownsmead, Burnside, Svenson, Puget Island (1968-1973)
Longview, Kelso, Castle Rock: Followed by Sections for Cathlamet-Skamokawa, Vader-Ryderwood (1976-1997) missing some years
Longview and Surrounding Area: Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Kalama, Kelso, Puget Island, Ryderwood, Skamokawa, Toutle, Vader, Followed by Separate Section for Rainier, OR (1997-2015) missing some years
Cathlamet: Skamokawa, Curtis, Pe Ell, Doty, Puget Island, Vader, Ryderwood (2001-2016) missing some years
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Longview-Kelso and Vicinity Telephone Directory (1940-1950) missing some years
Longview-Kelso Telephone Directory: Including Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Ryderwood, Skamokawa and Vader (1952-1957) missing some years
Telephone Directory: Grays River, Deep River, Rosburg, Altoona, Pillar Rock, Brookfield and Eden and Naselle Dial System (1961-2015) missing some years
Longview-Kelso: Including Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Ryderwood, Skamokawa and Vader (1962-1976) missing some years
Puget Island Telephone Association Directory: with Cathlamet, Grays River, Naselle Supplements (1963)
Toledo, Washington (1964-2001) missing some years
Longview, Kelso, Castle Rock: Followed by Sections for Cathlamet-Skamokawa, Vader-Ryderwood (1976-1997) missing some years
Longview and Surrounding Area: Castle Rock, Cathlamet, Kalama, Kelso, Puget Island, Ryderwood, Skamokawa, Toutle, Vader, Followed by Separate Section for Rainier, OR (1997-2015) missing some years
Cathlamet: Skamokawa, Curtis, Pe Ell, Doty, Puget Island, Vader, Ryderwood (2001-2016) missing some years