Benton County Genealogy Research

The Washington State Library's newspaper collection includes current print issues, historical newspapers on microfilm, and some issues that are searchable online. We subscribe to approximately 125 daily and weekly newspapers throughout Washington, plus a few out-of-state papers. The microfilm collection consists of more than 50,000 reels of newspapers dating from the 1850s to the present. We offer even more research options through free and subscription newspaper databases. The subscription newspaper databases require a Washington State Library card number to view the database. If you are a Washington state resident see this website on how to get a Washington State Library card.

The Washington State Library serves as the depository "for newspapers published in the state of Washington thus providing a central location for a valuable historical record." [RCW 27.04.045]

Please see the Washington State Library Newspaper LibGuide for more information about newspapers from Washington.

Find newspapers from Benton County at the Washington State Library available in print and microfilm.

The Library of Congress has an online Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries. This directory is a searchable index of the newspapers published in the United States since 1690, including newspapers from Benton County, Washington. The directory includes information about the newspapers and lists the libraries that hold copies of the the newspapers (usually in microfilm format). Search the Library of Congress directory for Benton County newspapers.

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online.