Digital Resources Hub

Question: I want to borrow e-books and e-audiobooks from the State Library. How can I do this?
Answer: The Washington State Library offers a few options for residents interested in reading or listening to digital books. These include the Palace Project, Washington Anytime Library, and Biblioboard (available in the Palace Project app).

Palace Project LibGuide 

This LibGuide, created by the State Library's Library Development team, includes an overview of Palace, information for participating public libraries, and a brief how-to for library users. Contact information for project staff is located in the "Palace Project – Washington State Library (WSL)" tab. 

Washington Anytime Library - OverDrive 

To access available ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines, customers will need to select their public library from the drop-down menu and then input their card number and pin for that library. If you are uncertain if your library provides access to this resource, check the list of participating libraries on the "Select your library" drop-down menu on the sign-in screen. 

Biblioboard: Washington State Library (biblioboard.com) 

These titles, besides being available in the Palace Project app (through the Washington State Library or any other participating library in the state), will also be available on the web at https://library.biblioboard.com without having to go through the Palace app. This site is geo-location enabled, so that anyone that the system thinks is in the state of Washington can see and read them. No library card or log in necessary. 

Question: How do I get a library card with the Washington State Library?
Answer: All Washington state residents aged 18 and older are eligible for a library card with the Washington State Library. You can learn more about the requirements and steps to apply on our website: www.sos.wa.gov/library/card.aspx.

Question: How do I license databases for my library?
Answer: Eligible libraries in Washington state can learn more about options for providing access to select databases through the Washington State Library's "Statewide Database Licensing Project". More information is available here: www2.sos.wa.gov/library/libraries/projects/sdl/

Question: Can I use my public library card to borrow books from and access databases through the Washington State Library?
Answer: You will need a current library card from the Washington State Library in order to borrow materials directly from the library and to access databases subscriptions. Visit our website for information on eligibility and how to apply for a Washington State Library card: www2.sos.wa.gov/library/card.aspx.

Your public library card is used for access to that library's collections and digital resources. If you are unable to visit the State Library in person, you can request to borrow items from our collections using your local library's interlibrary loan system. Find a library near you with this online directory: directory.walibraries.org/

We are available to answer questions via telephone and email from 8AM - 5PM Monday through Friday. The Library's Reading Room is open from 10AM - 4PM, Tuesday through Friday. We are closed on weekends and state holidays.

If you are planning a research visit, we strongly encourage scheduling an appointment. This allows us to gather any requested materials ahead of time or help you identify additional resources. Click here to fill out our online appointment form.

Ask a Librarian - Washington State Library: www2.sos.wa.gov/library/ask.aspx

Gale offers a range of training videos in its "Video Tutorials" online library. You can select any of the videos linked below to view them on Gale's website. Access the full range of database tutorials at support.gale.com/training/videos/. Please note that not all databases in the training video library are available through the Washington State Library.

Gale Academic OneFile: Getting to Know Tutorial                 

Gale Business Insights

Gale in Context Middle School

Gale Health & Wellness

Gale Literature: LitFinder

More database tutorials are available online at support.gale.com/training/videos/.