Research Databases
The Washington State Library provides access to a variety of databases via subscription from NewsBank, Gale, and Ancestry.com (available in-library only). If you have questions about accessing any of these databases, please contact the State Library through our Ask-a-Librarian service.
Gale Databases
Gale Databases include access to a variety of research and learning resources on a broad range of topics. Below you'll find databases that include sample business plans and articles for entrepreneurs, curriculum-related content for elementary school students, analysis of global issues and events, up-to-date information on health care topics, and much more!
When accessing the Gale databases remotely, whether from home or on the go, you will be asked for a password. In this case, you'll need to input your State Library card number. Not sure what this number is? Contact the State Library for assistance.
Main Page
Academic
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico [Spanish & Portuguese]
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Gale OneFile: Information Science
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Arts & Literature | Books, Magazines, & News
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Gale In Context: Middle School
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
History
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Home & Garden
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
Humanities & Social Sciences
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Science & Health
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Newspapers
Washington State Library's newspaper collection includes current print issues, historical newspapers on microfilm, and some issues that are searchable online. We subscribe to approximately 125 daily and weekly newspapers throughout Washington, plus a few out-of-state papers. The microfilm collection consists of over 50,000 reels of newspapers dating from the 1850s to the present. We offer even more research options through free and subscription newspaper databases. The subscription newspaper databases will require a Washington State Library card number to view the database. If you are a Washington state resident see this website on how to get a Washington State Library card.
The Washington State Library serves as the depository "for newspapers published in the state of Washington thus providing a central location for a valuable historical record." [RCW 27.04.045]
Use our "Newspapers of Washington State LibGuide" to access these resources:
Digital Collections
The Washington State Library offers several digital collections from its many historical resources. All of these collections will continue to grow as more books, maps, newspapers and manuscripts are scanned.
Classics in Washington History
The Classics include full-text, online books about Washington history and culture.
Guy Reed Ramsey's Postmarked Washington
Reformatted for the digital age as a project of the Washington State Library, Guy Ramsey's research on the post offices and post office towns of Washington state is now made available to a new audience of appreciative historians. The data found on this site was taken from the manuscript presented by Mr. Ramsey to the Washington State Library for preservation microfilming in February 1966.
Emma Smith DeVoe’s Papers and Scrapbooks
View the collection of general correspondence and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings relating to the women's suffrage movement in the United States in general and Washington State in particular. Collection includes scrapbooks by Emma Smith Devoe, Cora Smith Eaton, Clara Watson Elsom, and Bernice Sapp.
Historical Maps
This collection includes maps from both the Library and the State Archives and covers the history of Washington from early exploration (1794) to modern times.
Historical Photos
The State Library's collection of photos, spanning 1851-1990, is now available through Digital Archives. This collection consists of photographs of various subjects related to Washington's history, people, geography, and economic development. The collection is searchable by keyword (person, place, or thing), people, photographer, and/or date.
Northwest Digital Heritage
Northwest Digital Heritage is a partnership between the Washington State Library, the Oregon Heritage Commission, and the State Library of Oregon to provide access to the digital collections of Oregon and Washington-based libraries, museums, and cultural heritage organizations.
Primarily Washington
Primarily Washington is the Washington State Library, Washington State Archives, and Legacy Washington's way of bridging the gap between the primary sources in our collections and the classroom. This portal contains digitized primary sources that have been partnered with curriculum developed by Washington State teachers. Featured exhibits encourage further study by students and all others wishing to learn more about the history of the Pacific Northwest. It also includes pages for Additional Resources and Newspapers - Moments in History.
Thurston County Pioneers before 1870
This searchable database of digital images contains biographical information about 210 people who immigrated to or were living in Thurston County, Washington Territory before 1870.
Governors of Washington State
This is a searchable database of digital images and biographical information about past governors of the State of Washington.
World War I: Soldiers Remembered
This collection contains several discrete sections: a collection of forms and photos from the Spokane Public Library about young soldiers from that area, art from artists embedded in the regiments, World War I enlistment cards from the State Archives, photos, documents, and other resources.
Washington Rural Heritage
Washington Rural Heritage (WRH) is an online aggregation of special collections from small and rural communities throughout the state of Washington. It features items important to Washington's history, culture, places, and people.
For more digital resources on Washington History, go to the Legacy Washington page.
Online Learning
The Washington State Library's Library Development team works closely with community library partners throughout the state to connect residents with online learning resources. You can explore these free upskilling and reskilling resources available through Washington libraries via the online guide linked below.
- Digital Skills Resources for Washingtonians: washstatelib.libguides.com/Digital-skills-resources
For questions about these resources, please contact Joyce Abbott, Workforce Development Librarian.
- Email: Joyce.abbott@sos.wa.gov
- Phone: (360) 570-5578
Why Earn a Certification?
Businesses of every size and industry have high demand for digital skills. Nationally, the demand for digital skills is significant for jobs posted by small (90%) and large (94%) businesses alike. Demand is consistently high across industries, including priority sectors for Washington, such as information (99%); healthcare (95%); arts, entertainment, and recreation (90%); and agriculture, forestry, fishing, and hunting (86%).
Washington’s most in-demand foundational digital skills: Computer literacy, Data entry, Typing, Microsoft Office, Word processing, Google apps, Barcode scanning
Examples of in-demand, industry specific skills:
- Healthcare: Electronic medical records, Dentrix practice management software, Telehealth
- Manufacturing: Computer numeric control (CNC), Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software
- Retail: Robotics, Computer aided drafting/design (CAD), SAS retail analytics and consumer goods software
- Finance and insurance: Mobile banking, Empower, Information security.
91% of jobs in Washington State definitely require or likely require digital skills. 42% likely require digital skills. 9% do not require digital skills. 49% definitely require digital skills.
Source: National Skills Coalition