Statewide Database Licensing (SDL) Project
Important update regarding the Statewide Database Licensing (SDL) Project:
Dear SDL Partners,
I am writing with difficult news regarding the Statewide Database Licensing (SDL) project. Due to the unexpected termination of our federal funding, the Washington State Library expects to bring this longstanding project to a close at the end of the current contract year (June 30, 2025).
As many of you know, SDL has been a cornerstone of statewide resource sharing for nearly 27 years. This program has provided consistent access to high-quality digital resources for libraries of all types across Washington, and we are deeply proud of the collaboration and impact it has enabled.
Unfortunately, with the loss of federal support, we can no longer sustain the centralized licensing model that has underpinned the project. As a result, our partnership with the current SDL vendor, Gale Cengage, will also come to an end when the current contract expires.
Gale will work directly with participating libraries and institutions to offer individual pricing going forward. They are aware of this transition and are preparing to connect with you soon to discuss options for continued access to their products.
We recognize the challenges this news may bring and share in the disappointment that this valued program must come to an end. If you have any questions about the transition or need assistance navigating the next steps, please don’t hesitate to reach out. You are also welcome to contact Sara Jones, State Librarian (sara.jones@sos.wa.gov) at the Washington State Library if you have additional questions or need further support.
You can learn more about the termination of funding from our Federal Library Funding in Washington LibGuide.
Thank you for your partnership and support over the years. It has been an honor to work alongside you to ensure equitable access to digital resources for all Washingtonians.
Warm regards,
Jude
Jude Guzzy (she/they)
Cooperative Projects Librarian, Library Development
Washington State Library | Office of the Secretary of State
6880 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater, WA 98501
O: 360-704-5217 | Jude.Guzzy@sos.wa.gov
|
|
SDL Project Description
SDL is a project coordinated by the Washington State Library to give citizens of the State of Washington access to online resources, specifically commercial research databases, through their local libraries at a discounted cost.
With guidance from the SDL Advisory Committee, the project uses federal LSTA grant funds to underwrite licenses to full-text magazine and newspaper databases for Washington libraries. Initiated in 1998, this project pays one-half of the annual costs. Libraries' local funds pay the rest. Local library costs are set using formulas established by the statewide advisory committee.
Libraries participating in SDL include:
- Public and private academic libraries (4-year+)
- Community and technical college libraries
- Public libraries and library systems
- Medical and special libraries
- K-12 libraries (in public and private schools) via the 9 Educational Service districts (ESDs)
- Tribal libraries
- State government agency libraries
One way to keep informed about the Statewide Database Licensing Project is to subscribe to the SDL project's e-mail list, WALIBSDL, or to the State Library's eNewletter, WSL Updates. To subscribe to these and other WSL e-mail lists, visit the WSL email distribution lists page.
For questions or additional information regarding the SDL project, please contact:
Jude Guzzy
Cooperative Projects Librarian
jude.guzzy@sos.wa.gov
253-292-6814
STATEWIDE DATABASE LICENSING PROJECT
Washington State Library
PO Box 42460
Olympia, WA 98504-2460
Funded in part by the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).
SDL Mission Statement
Through Washington libraries, all Washingtonians will have access to a range of electronic database products with which to address their informational and educational needs. And, Washington libraries will be able to leverage their resources to gain more cost effective access to database products.
-adopted 1998
For questions or additional information regarding the SDL project, please contact:
Jude Guzzy
Cooperative Projects Librarian
jude.guzzy@sos.wa.gov
253-292-6814
STATEWIDE DATABASE LICENSING PROJECT
Washington State Library
PO Box 42460
Olympia, WA 98504-2460