LibGuides: Vital Records in Washington State: Birth

Where to Look for Birth Records

Washington birth records before July 1, 1907, are held by the County Auditor. After July 1, 1907, they are held by the Health Department.

Washington State Digital Archives

Department of Health, Delayed Birth Records

These records include births previously omitted from the records of Washington as allowed by Washington State law of 1941. Births occurred from the 1880s to the 1920s and some did not originally occur in the State of Washington.

Department of Health, Fetal Death Records, 1919-1921

These records include the fetal deaths in the State of Washington. These records are considered birth records and often include both a birth and a death record until 1945.

Resources Available in the Library

Birth Records 1888-1943 from the Milton-Eagle Newspaper and Freewater Times Newspaper Location in Milton-Freewater, Oregon

GEN 979.569 WILSON 1888-1943

Birth Records, Tacoma-Pierce County, Washington, 1887-1892

GEN 979.778 BIRTH R 2011

[Clallam County Births]

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1908 v1

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1924 v2

GEN 979.799 CLALLAM 1939 v3

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1944 v4

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1947 v5

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1947 v6

Volume 1: 1908; volume 2: 1924; volume 3: 1939; volume 4: 1944; volume 5: January-June 1947; volume 6: July-December 1947.

Cowlitz County, Washington, 1942-1943, Court Ordered Birth Certificate Abstracts

GEN 979.788 HAGLE 1942-1943

Delayed Birth Certificates of Pierce County, Washington

GEN 979.778 DELAYED 2005

Ferry County, Washington Birth & Death Records, 1899-1911

GEN 979.725 FERRY C 1899-1911

Klickitat County, Washington Death and Birth Records

GEN 979.753 KLICKIT 1976

Kootenai County, Idaho Early Newspapers: Births, Deaths, Others, 1881-1912

GEN OVERSIZ 979.664 VENTUR 2012

Arranged alphabetically by surname, this index includes name, topic (birth, marriage, death, etc.), date of publication, and publication name.

Lewis County Birth Register, 1891-1906

GEN 979.782 LEWIS C 1891-1906

Life and Death at St. Mary's Mission, Montana: Births, Marriages, Deaths, and Survival Among the Bitterroot Salish Indians, 1866-1891

GEN 978.689 LIFE AN 1866-1891

Records of Yakima County, Washington, 1869-1907, and Benton County, Washington, 1905-1907

GEN 979.755 RECORDS 1975 v. 1

The collection has five volumes, volume 1 is birth records.

Spokane County, Washington Early Birth Records : 1890-1906

GEN 979.737 SPOKANE 1890-1906

Umatilla County Miscellaneous Records

GEN 979.569 UMATILL 2007

Index to miscellaneous records in Umatilla County, Oregon. Chiefly delayed birth records, but includes naturalizations, oaths and bonds, and school records.

Wasco County, Oregon: Birth & Death Abstracts...From the Dalles, Oregon Newspapers

GEN 979.562 ELLIOTT

Covers the period 1865-August 29, 1895, excluding 1878, in three volumes.

Whitman County, Washington Birth Records, 1875-1907

GEN 979.739 WHITMAN 1875-1907

Birth Index - Washington State [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1907-1909 v.1

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.2

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.3

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.4

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.5

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.6

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.7

Health-Vital Statistics birth index. Volume 1: Ah, Cly-Zoring, Roy 1907-1909; Volume 2: Aho, Dan-Holmberg, Olaf 1910-1919; Volume 3: Holm, Soren S.-Reidt, U. 1910-1919; Volume 4: Reidt, V.-Zermaritz, Martin 1910-1919; Volume 5: Aho, Aksel-Hill, John A 1920-1929; Volume 6: Hill, James A.-Prarer, George Jr 1920-1929; Volume 7: Quay, A.R.-Zermantz, Fred 1920-1929.

Delayed Birth Indexes

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1960?

Indexes/Births: A-Z - Washington State [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH A-Z 1891-1907; A-S 1907-1909

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH S-Z 1907-1909; A-D 1910-1919

Adams

Register of Births - Adams County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.734 BIRTH 1891-1907

Adams County register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Asotin

Register of Births - Asotin County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.742 BIRTH 1891-1907

Asotin County Auditor register of births. Covers July 7, 1891-June 25, 1907.

Benton

Register of Births - Benton County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.751 BIRTH 1905-1907

Benton County Auditor register of births. Covers 1905-1907.

Chelan

Birth Records - Chelan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.759 BIRTH 1900-1907

Chelan County Auditor birth records. Covers February 25, 1900-September 27, 1907.

Clallam

Register of Births - Clallam County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.799 BIRTH 1891-1905

Clallam County Auditor register of births. Covers May 18, 1891-May 26, 1905.

Clark

Birth Records - Clark County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.786 BIRTH 1891-1907

Clark County Auditor register of births. Covers July 1891 to June 1907.

Columbia

Register of Births - Columbia County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.746 BIRTH 1891-1906

Columbia County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1906.

Cowlitz

Register of Births - Cowlitz County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.788 BIRTH 1891-1907

Cowlitz County Auditor register of births. Covers June 4, 1891-May 1, 1907.

Douglas

[Birth Returns, 1892-1907]; [Death Returns, 1891-1907; Miscellaneous Records, 1924-1966] - Douglas County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.731 BIRTH 1892-1907

Douglas County Auditor birth returns Jan. 1892-1913 [i.e. 1907], death returns 1891-1907, 1912.

[Marriage Certificates, 1906-1955]; [Marriage Returns, 1895-1946; Registers of Birth, 1891-1907; Birth Returns, July 1891-Jan 1892] - Douglas County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.731 BIRTH 1891-1892

Douglas County Auditor birth returns from July 1891-January 1892, register of births 1891-1907.

Ferry

Register of Births - Ferry County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.725 BIRTH 1899-1908

Ferry County Auditor register of births. Covers September 1, 1899-June 10, 1908.

Franklin

Birth Returns - Franklin County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.733 BIRTH 1891-1919

Franklin County Auditor birth returns. Covers the period June 8, 1891-June 25, 1919.

Garfield

Register of Births - Garfield County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.744 BIRTH 1891-1913

Garfield County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1913, with sporadic records up to 1935.

Grays Harbor

Register of Births - Grays Harbor County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.795 BIRTH 1891-1906

Grays Harbor County Auditor register of births. Covers July 22, 1891-December 31, 1906.

Island

Birth Returns - Island County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.775 BIRTH 1891-1911

Island County Auditor birth returns. Covers the period 1870, 1891-1911.

Jefferson

Register of Births - Jefferson County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.798 BIRTH 1891-1905

Jefferson County Auditor register of births. Covers July 21, 1891-November 22, 1905.

King

Birth Records - Seattle [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.777 BIRTH 1890-1894

GEN MICRO 979.777 BIRTH 1907

City of Seattle register of births. Covers 1890 thru April 16, 1894 and February thru June 1907.

Birth Records, King County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.777 BIRTH 1891 APR 6-1907 JUN 26

GEN MICRO 979.777 BIRTH 1905-1907

King County Auditor register of births 1891 thru 1907.

Kitsap

Register of Births - Kitsap County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.776 BIRTH 1891-1907

Kitsap County Auditor register of births. Covers November 12, 1891-June 23, 1907.

Kittitas

Birth Register - Roslyn [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.757 BIRTH 1907-1908?

City of Roslyn register of births. Covers 1907-?.

Birth Returns - Kittitas County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.757 BIRTH 1891-1907

Kittitas County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Klickitat

Birth Register - Klickitat County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.753 BIRTH 1891-1907

Klickitat County Auditor register of births 1891 thru 1907.

Lewis

Register of Births - Lewis County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.782 BIRTH 1891-1906

Lewis County Auditor register of births. Covers June 28, 1891-February 22, 1906.

Lincoln

Birth Records, Register of Births - Lincoln County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.735 BIRTH 1891-1907

Lincoln County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Mason

Register of Births - Mason County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.797 BIRTH 1891-1903

Mason County Auditor register of births. Covers April 2, 1891- September 16, 1903.

Okanogan

Birth Register - Okanogan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.728 BIRTH 1891-1911

Okanogan County Auditor register of births: 1891 thru 1911.

Pacific

Register of Births - Pacific County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.792 BIRTH 1891-1915

Pacific County Auditor register of births. Covers November 14, 1891 to June 9, 1915.

Pierce

Birth & Death Returns - Puyallup [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.778 BIRTH 1891-1908?

City of Puyallup register of deaths & births. Covers 1891-?.

Register of Births - Pierce County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.778 BIRTH 1891-1907

Pierce County Auditor register of births. Covers July 21, 1891-June 23, 1907.

San Juan

Register of Births - San Juan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.774 BIRTH 1891-1907

San Juan County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Skagit

Register of Births - Skagit County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.772 BIRTH 1891-1907

Skagit County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Skamania

Register of Births - Skamania County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.784 BIRTH 1891-1907

Skamania County Auditor register of births. Covers October 4, 1891-October 4, 1903.

Skamania County Records of Births, Marriages, Early Wills, Probate Administrations, Deeds and Miscellaneous Records to 1892 and cemeteries of Skamania County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.784 BIRTH 1966

Births to 1907.

Snohomish

Birth Register - Everett [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.771 BIRTH 1881-1911

City of Everett register of births 1881 thru 1911.

Register of Births - Snohomish County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.771 BIRTH 1891-1907

Snohomish County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1907.

Spokane

Register of Births - Spokane County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.737 BIRTH 1892-1907

Spokane County Auditor register of births. Covers January 26, 1892-May 9, 1907.

Stevens

Register of Births - Stevens County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.723 BIRTH 1891-1906

Stevens County Auditor register of births. Covers 1891-1906.

Thurston

Birth & Death Register - Olympia [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.779 BIRTH 1892-1906

City of Olympia register of births and deaths, 1892 thru 1906.

Register of Births - Thurston County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.779 BIRTH 1891-1906

Thurston County Auditor register of births. Covers July 28, 1891-June 10, 1906.

Wahkiakum

Register of Births - Wahkiakum County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.791 BIRTH 1892-1907

Wahkiakum County Auditor register of births. Covers April 13, 1891-January 9, 1904.

Walla Walla

Register of Births Reported - Walla Walla County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.748 BIRTH 1883-1922

Walla Walla County Auditor register of births. Covers the city of Walla Walla January 3, 1883-December 31, 1922, and Walla Walla County May 30, 1892-August 11, 1907.

Whatcom

Register of Births - Bellingham [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.773 BIRTH 1904-1915

City of Bellingham register of births. Covers 1904-1915.

Register of Births - Whatcom County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.773 BIRTH 1891-1902

Whatcom County Auditor register of births. Covers June 8, 1891-May 10, 1902.

Whitman

Birth Returns Index - Whitman County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.739 BIRTH 1891-1906

Whitman County Auditor register of births 1891 thru 1906.

Yakima

Birth Returns - Yakima County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.755 BIRTH 1891-1907

Yakima County Auditor birth returns. Covers 1891-1907.

Vital Records in Washington State

Where to Look for Birth Records

Washington State Digital Archives

Adams

Benton

Chelan

Clallam

Clark

Columbia

Cowlitz

Douglas

Ferry

Franklin

Garfield

Grays Harbor

Island

Jefferson

King

Kitsap

Kittitas

Klickitat

Lewis

Mason

Okanogan

Pacific

Pend Oreille

Pierce

San Juan

Skagit

Skamania

Snohomish

Spokane

Stevens

Thurston

Wahkiakum

Walla Walla

Whatcom

Whitman

Yakima

Resources Available in the Library

GEN 979.569 WILSON 1888-1943

GEN 979.778 BIRTH R 2011

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1908 v1

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1924 v2

GEN 979.799 CLALLAM 1939 v3

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1944 v4

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1947 v5

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 1947 v6

GEN 979.788 HAGLE 1942-1943

GEN 979.778 DELAYED 2005

GEN 979.725 FERRY C 1899-1911

GEN 979.753 KLICKIT 1976

GEN OVERSIZ 979.664 VENTUR 2012

GEN 979.782 LEWIS C 1891-1906

GEN 978.689 LIFE AN 1866-1891

GEN 979.755 RECORDS 1975 v. 1

GEN 979.737 SPOKANE 1890-1906

GEN 979.569 UMATILL 2007

GEN 979.562 ELLIOTT

GEN 979.739 WHITMAN 1875-1907

Birth Index - Washington State [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1907-1909 v.1

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.2

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.3

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1910-1919 v.4

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.5

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.6

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1920-1929 v.7

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH 1960?

Indexes/Births: A-Z - Washington State [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH A-Z 1891-1907; A-S 1907-1909

GEN MICRO 979.7 BIRTH S-Z 1907-1909; A-D 1910-1919

Adams

Register of Births - Adams County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.734 BIRTH 1891-1907

Asotin

Register of Births - Asotin County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.742 BIRTH 1891-1907

Benton

Register of Births - Benton County [microform]