Skip to Main Content

Vital Records in Washington State

Where to Look for Death Records

Washington death records prior to July 1, 1907, are held by the county auditor. After June 30, 1907, death records are held by the Washington State Department of Health.

Washington State Digital Archives

Adams

Adams County Auditor, Death Records, 1893-1907

 

Chelan

Chelan County Auditor, Death Records, 1899-1907

 

Clallam

Clallam County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1906

 

Clark

Clark County Death Register 1891-1907

 

Columbia

Columbia County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1906

 

Cowlitz

Cowlitz County Auditor, Death Records, 1898-1907

Kalama City Clerk (Cowlitz Co), Burial Transit Permits, 1941-1943

 

Douglas

Douglas County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Ferry

Ferry County Auditor, Death Records, 1899-1902

 

Franklin

Franklin County Auditor, Death Records, 1879-1910

 

Garfield

Garfield County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

Garfield County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1935

 

Grays Harbor

Aberdeen City Clerk, Death Register, 1891-1907

Grays Harbor County Death Records, 1891-1907

Grays Harbor County Health Department, Burial Transit Permits

 

Island

Island County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Jefferson

Jefferson County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

Jefferson County Health Department, Burial Transit and Cremation Permits, 1968-1988, 2009-2010

 

King

King County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

Seattle Municipal Health Department, Death Records, 1881-1907

 

Kitsap

Kitsap County Auditor, Death Records, 1892-1907

 

Kittitas

Kittitas County Auditor, Death Records, 1892-1907

 

Lewis

Lewis County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1906

Lewis County Health Department, Burial Transit Permits

Mason

Mason County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1905

 

Pacific

Pacific County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1917

 

Pend Oreille

Pend Oreille County Auditor, Death Records, 1907-1931

 

Pierce

Pierce County Auditor, Death Records, 1892-1907

Puyallup City Clerk, Death Register, 1891-1898

 

San Juan

San Juan County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Skagit

Skagit County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1908

Skagit County Health Department, Burial Transit Permits

 

Snohomish

Snohomish County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Spokane

Spokane County Auditor, Death Register, 1891-1907

Spokane County Auditor, Death Returns, 1888-1907

 

Stevens

Stevens County Auditor, Register of Deaths, 1891-1907

 

Thurston

Thurston County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Wahkiakum

Wahkiakum County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Walla Walla

Walla Walla City Clerk, Register of Deaths, 1907

Walla Walla County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Whatcom

Bellingham City Clerk, Register of Deaths, 1904-1915

Lynden City Clerk (Whatcom County), Burial Transit Permits

Whatcom County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Whitman

Whitman County Auditor, Death Records, 1891-1907

 

Yakima

Yakima County Auditor, Death Records, 1896-1907

Resources Available in the Library

Cemetery and Death Records for the State of Washington Held by the Seattle Public Library and the Seattle Genealogical Society

GEN 979.7 CEMETER 1992

 

City of Roslyn, Washington, Death Records, 1907 to 1955

GEN 979.757 CITY OF 1907-1955

 

Clallam County Washington Death Certificates...

GEN OVERSIZ 979.799 CLALLAM 2014 v.1-8

Covers July 1907 to December 1936.

 

Clark County Death Records, 1891-1903

GEN 979.786 BENNET 1891-1903

 

Cumulative Death Index to the Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest

GEN 979.5 CATHOLI 1972

 

Ferry County, Washington Birth & Death Records, 1899-1911

GEN 979.725 FERRY C 1899-1911

 

Grays Harbor Co. Marriages-Deaths Records, 1855-1892

GEN OVERSIZ 979.795 GRAYS H 1855-1892

This is a compilation of abstracts for marriages, marriage affidavits, marriage returns, and death records for Grays Harbor County (formerly named Chehalis County), Washington. The records were abstracted from handwritten papers and books held at the court house in Montesano, Washington. 

 

Grays Harbor Co. Washington Death & Birth Records 1891-1908

GEN OVERSIZ 979.795 GRAYS H 1891-1908

This is a compiled alphabetical register of death only. The register contains the surname, given name, date of death, age at death, marital status, place of death, cause of death, and birthplace.

 

[Grays Harbor County Death Records, 1914]

GEN OVERSIZ 979.795 GRAYS H 1914

 

Index, Death Records, City of Spokane, WA 1891-1906: With Record of Vaccinations 1887-1890

GEN 979.737 INDEX D 1887-1906

Index to the death records of the City of Spokane, Washington, 1891-1906. Vaccination record for Spokane County, Washington, 1887-1890.

 

Klickitat County, Washington Death and Birth Records

GEN 979.753 KLICKIT 1976

 

Lewis County, Washington, Death Records, 1891-1906

GEN 979.782 MCNEILL 1891-1906

 

Records of Yakima County, Washington, 1869-1907, and Benton County, Washington, 1905-1907

GEN 979.755 RECORDS 1975 v.2

The collection has five volumes, volume 2 is death records. 

 

Seattle Death Records, 1881-1907

GEN 979.7772 SEATTLE 1881-1907

Includes bibliographical references and index.

 

Skagit County, Washington Death Records, 1891-1908: From the Period When Deaths in Washington Were Recorded by the Counties

GEN 979.772 SKAGIT 1891-1908

Includes the name of the deceased and of the parents, death date, age, gender, birthplace, residence at time of death, and the Skagit County death record number. 

 

Whitman County, Washington Death Register

GEN 979.739 WHITMAN 1888-1929b

Includes bibliographical references and index. Includes a bonus section, death records extracted from the Pullman Herald Newspaper 1888-1929.

Index to Wasco County Deaths, 1903-1950: From Oregon Death Index Notices, 1903-1920, 1921-1930, 1931-1940, 1941-1950

GEN 979.562 KOOPS 1930-1950

 

Kootenai County, Idaho Early Newspapers: Births, Deaths, Others, 1881-1912

GEN OVERSIZ 979.664 VENTUR 2012

Arranged alphabetically by surname, this index includes name, topic (birth, marriage, death, etc.), date of publication, and publication name.

 

Life and Death at St. Mary's Mission, Montana: Births, Marriages, Deaths, and Survival Among the Bitterroot Salish Indians, 1866-1891

GEN 978.689 LIFE AN 1866-1891

 

Newspaper Obituaries and Death Notices: Astoria, Clatsop County, Oregon

GEN 979.546 MORRELL 1988 v.1-2

Volume 1: Hillside Pioneer Cemetery, Astoria, Oregon; volume 2: Astoria, Oregon.

 

Obituary Index, Coeur d'Alene Press, 1984-1988

GEN OVERSIZ 979.694 WOOD 20--?

 

Wasco County, Oregon: Birth & Death Abstracts...From the Dalles, Oregon Newspapers

GEN 979.562 ELLIOTT

Covers the period 1865-August 29, 1895, excluding 1878, in three volumes.

 

Yamhill County Death Records, September 2, 1918 through December 31, 1921

GEN 979.539 YAMHILL 200-?

Death Index [microfiche]

NW MICRO 929.3797 DEATH I 2004 v. 1-101

Covers 1965-?.

 

Index to Death Records [2001-2004] - [microfiche]

NW MICRO 929.3797 INDEX T 2005 v.1-15

Shows the name of deceased, date of death, place of death, age at time of death, and certificate number.

 

Index to Vital Records: Death Records Index, 1907-1979 [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1907-1909
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1910-1919
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1920-1929
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1930-1939
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1940-1945
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1946-1949
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1950-1954
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1955-1959
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1960-1964
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1965-1969
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1970-1974
GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1975-1979
NW MICRO 929.3797 INDEX T 1983?

 

Pioneers of Washington Scrapbook of Obituaries with Index, [1882-1918] - [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.7 DEATH 1882-1918

Adams

Register of Deaths - Adams County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.734 DEATH 1891-1907

Adams County register of deaths. Covers 1891-1907.

 

Asotin

Register of Deaths - Asotin County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.742 DEATH 1898-1907

Asotin County Auditor register of deaths. Covers November 19, 1898-April 30, 1907.

 

Chelan

Death Returns - Chelan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.759 DEATH 1895-1907

Chelan County Auditor register of deaths 1900-1906, death returns 1895-1907.

 

Clark

Register of Deaths - Clark County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.786 DEATH 1891-1907

Clark County Auditor register of deaths. Covers September 26, 1891-June 22, 1907.

 

Columbia

Register of Deaths - Columbia County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.746 DEATH 1891-1906

Columbia County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1906.

 

Cowlitz

Register of Deaths - Cowlitz County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.788 DEATH 1891-1907

Cowlitz County Auditor. Covers July 23, 1891-March 17,1907.

 

Douglas

[Birth Returns, 1892-1907]; [Death Returns, 1891-1907; Miscellaneous Records, 1924-1966] - Douglas County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.731 BIRTH 1892-1907

Douglas County Auditor birth returns Jan. 1892-1913 [i.e. 1907], death returns 1891-1907, 1912.

 

Ferry

Register of Death - Ferry County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.725 DEATH 1899-1911

Ferry County Auditor register of deaths. Covers March 12 1899-February 23, 1911.

 

Franklin

Death Returns - Franklin County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.733 DEATH 1891-1910

Franklin County Auditor register of deaths. Covers June 13, 1891 thru February 21, 1910.

 

Garfield

Register of Deaths - Garfield County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.744 DEATH 1891-1913

Garfield County Auditor register of deaths. Covers December 5, 1891-October 15, 1913.

 

Grays Harbor

Obituaries of Grays Harbor Pioneers Published in the Aberdeen Daily World, 1895-1961 - [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.795 DEATH 1895-1961

 

Register of Deaths - Grays Harbor [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.795 DEATH 1892-1907

Grays Harbor County Auditor register of deaths. Covers May 1, 1892-June 23, 1907.

 

Island

Death Returns - Island County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.775 DEATH 1891-1907

Island County Auditor register of deaths. Covers September 22, 1891 thru January 9, 1907.

 

Jefferson

Register of Deaths - Jefferson County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.798 DEATH 1891-1906

Jefferson County Auditor register of deaths. Covers August 4, 1891-March 7, 1906.

 

King

Death Records, King County - King County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.777 DEATH 1891-1907 v.1-2

Seattle-King County Health Department. Covers 1891-1907.

 

Death Records Seattle - Seattle [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.777 DEATH 1881-1891
GEN MICRO 979.777 DEATH 1891-1904
GEN MICRO 979.777 DEATH 1904-1907

City of Seattle death returns. Covers 1881-1907.

 

Kitsap

Register of Deaths - Kitsap County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.776 DEATH 1892-1907

Kitsap County Auditor register of deaths. Covers February 20, 1892-May 16, 1907.

 

Kittitas

Death Register - Roslyn [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.757 DEATH 1901-1904

City of Roslyn register of deaths. Covers 1901-1904.

 

Register of Deaths Book - Kittitas County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.757 DEATH 1891-1907

Kittitas County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1907.

 

Klickitat

Deaths - Klickitat County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.753 DEATH 1891-1907

Klickitat County Auditor register of deaths 1891 thru 1907.

 

Lewis

Register of Deaths - Lewis County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.782 DEATH 1891-1903

Lewis County Auditor register of deaths. Covers May 30, 1891-October 27, 1903.

 

Lincoln

Death Records, Register of Deaths - Lincoln County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.735 DEATH 1891-1907

Lincoln County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1907.

Mason

Register of Deaths - Mason County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.797 DEATH 1894-1905

Mason County Auditor register of deaths. Covers January 8, 1894-November 25, 1905.

 

Okanogan

Register of Deaths - Okanogan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.728 DEATH 1891-1908

Okanogan County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1908.

 

Pacific

Register of Deaths - Pacific County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.792 DEATH 1894-1917

Pacific County Auditor register of deaths. Covers March 3, 1894-October 18, 1917.

 

Pierce

Birth & Death Returns - Puyallup [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.778 BIRTH 1891-1908?

City of Puyallup register of deaths & births. Covers 1891-?.

 

Register of Deaths in Pierce County, Sate of Washington - Pierce County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.778 DEATH 1891-1907

Pierce County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1907.

 

San Juan

Death Register - San Juan County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.774 DEATH 1892-1907

San Juan County Auditor register of deaths volume 49, pages 77-159 (1892).

 

Skagit

Register of Deaths - Skagit County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.772 DEATH 1891-1910

Skagit County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1910.

 

Snohomish

Death Register - Everett [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.771 DEATH 1905-1907

City of Everett register of deaths. Covers 1905-1907.

 

Register of Deaths (1891-1907) - Snohomish County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.771 DEATH 1891-1907

Snohomish County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1891-1907.

 

Spokane

Early Spokane Death Records & Vaccination Records - Spokane [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.737 DEATH 1887-1890

Spokane County Vital Records Department. Contents: Volume A-1: [Deaths] 1887-1890 (probably not all of the records); 9 individual death certificates from the year 1890; 46 pages of mortuary reports, 1887-1890 - Vaccination records for early City of Spokane. Volume 1: 1891-1903; volume 2: 1904-1909; volume 3: 1910.

 

Register of Deaths - Spokane County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.737 DEATH 1889-1907

Spokane County Auditor register of deaths. Covers September 15, 1889-June 19,1907.

 

Stevens

Death Register - Stevens County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.723 DEATH 1896-1907

Stevens County Auditor register of deaths. Covers 1896-1907. 

 

Thurston

Birth & Death Register - Olympia [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.779 BIRTH 1892-1906

City of Olympia register of births and deaths, 1892 thru 1906.

 

Birth & Death Returns - Olympia [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.779 BIRTH 1892-1906

City of Olympia death returns, January 15, 1892 thru June 18, 1906.

 

Register of Deaths - Thurston County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.779 DEATH 1891-1903

Thurston County Auditor register of deaths. Covers July 4, 1891-April 17, 1903.

 

Wahkiakum

Register of Deaths - Wahkiakum County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.791 DEATH 1892-1907

Wahkiakum County Auditor register of deaths. Covers February 4, 1892-June 27, 1907.

 

Walla Walla

Register of Deaths - Walla Walla County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.748 DEATH 1883-1922

Walla Walla County Auditor register of deaths. Covers the city of Walla Walla, January 15, 1883-December 31, 1922, and Walla Walla county, July 22, 1891-June 26, 1907.

 

Whatcom

Record of Deaths - Fairhaven [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.773 DEATH 1890-1904

City of Fairhaven register of deaths. Fairhaven is now part of Bellingham. Covers 1890-1904.

 

Register of Deaths - Bellingham [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.773 DEATH 1904-1915

City of Bellingham register of deaths. Covers 1904-1915.

 

Register of Deaths - Whatcom County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.773 DEATH 1891-1907

Whatcom County Auditor register of deaths. Covers November 1, 1891-May 7, 1907.

 

Whitman

Register of Deaths - Whitman County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.739 DEATH 1893-1907

Whitman County Auditor register of deaths. Covers July 15, 1893-June 12, 1907.

 

Yakima

Death Returns - Yakima County [microform]

GEN MICRO 979.755 DEATH 1898-1907

Yakima County Auditor death returns. Covers July 14, 1898 thru July 5, 1907.