Have a question about what you're seeing? Hoping for some additional context?
Want to get a library card? Are you a Washington state resident?
The Washington State Library provides access to a number of subscription newspaper databases for our patrons to use. The subscription newspaper databases will require a Washington State Library card number to view the database. If you are a Washington state resident see this website on how to get a Washington State Library card. The list of subscription newspaper databases we provide are listed below.
The largest online newspaper archive, established in 2012. This is a limited number of Washington state published newspapers that have been digitized, but are in an embargo period before they are added to Washington Digital Newspapers.
Regional, national, and world newspapers. Over 50 contemporary Pacific Northwest News Publications, and divers WA coverage with publications such as...
The Bonney Lake & Lake Tapps Courier-Herald (Bonney Lake, WA), Edmonds Beacon (Edmonds, WA), The Goldendale Sentinel (Goldendale, WA), Kitsap Sun (Bremerton, WA), The Whidbey Examiner (Coupeville, WA), Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA), and Mukilteo Beacon (Mukilteo, WA)
Magazine, news, and journal articles on general interest topics and current events.
Explore and research topics across Washington State. This resource contains news sources from across the state, including: the Bellingham Herald, Chinook Observer, Chronicle, Columbian, Daily Herald, Daily News, Daily Record, Daily World, News Tribune, The Olympian, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review, Tri-City Herald, Yakima Herald-Republic and more.
Search the Olympian from 1891 to the present.
Search Seattle area history with The Seattle Times Integrated Collection. With coverage from 1895-current, the collection contains full-color newspaper pages, individual full-text articles and content only published online.
Search the historical collections of the Olympian and Seattle Daily Times. Coverage begins with the 1891 Morning Olympian.
Explore Spokane history and search the historical collection of The Spokesman-Review with coverage starting in 1882-current. Collection also includes Kitsap Sun from 2010-current.
Explore Tacoma and Pierce County, Washington news, events, people, and history with the News Tribune Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for genealogy research, 1704-today.
Explore reliable resources on a variety of topics and issues.