Have a question about what you're seeing? Hoping for some additional context?
The citation should include the author (if listed), article title, newspaper title, publication date, and the how the article was accessed. If the author is not listed, the citation starts with the article title. The city and state should be added in brackets if the newspaper is not a well known national newspaper. Some newspapers have different editions, if an edition is listed it needs to be included after the date. If the newspaper is in print or microfilm, the page number needs to be included. If the article is on more than one page, add a plus (+) sign after the page number (example: A1+). If the newspaper is in a database, add the name of the database. If the newspaper is online, add the URL. If the newspaper is in a database or online, add the date the newspaper was accessed.
Examples:
Newspaper Article from a Database:
Author Listed:
Kondo, Kara. "NW Buddhist Meet Opens Friday: 200 Seattleites Plan Wapato Trip." The Northwest Times 9 February 1955: 1. Newspapers.com. Web. Accessed 14 March 2024.
No Author Listed:
"Conductor Fired for Kissing a Girl: James Floyder, Employed by the Seattle Electric Company, Loses Position Because He Was Too Amorous." The Seattle Daily Times [Seattle, WA] 20 March 1908, 5 o'Clock City Edition.: 1. Seattle Times Collection with Historical Archives. Web. Accessed 14 March 2024.
Newspaper Article from a Website:
"Territory of Columbia." The Columbian [Olympia, O.T. (WA)] 9 April 1853: 2. https://www.loc.gov/resource/sn83025143/1853-04-09/ed-1/?sp=2&st=image&r=0.021,0.17,0.452,0.273,0. Accessed 14 March 2024.
Newspaper Article from Print or Microfilm:
"Human Fly Climbs Realty Building." News Tribune [Tacoma, WA] 13 September 1918, Night Ed: 17. Microfilm.
The citation should include the author (if listed), article title, newspaper title, publication date, and page number. The author is listed as last name, first initial. If the author is not listed, the citation starts with the article title. In the title of the article, only the first word is capitalized. If the newspaper is in a database, the name of the database is not included, only the newspaper title. If the newspaper is online, add the URL.
Examples:
Newspaper Article from a Database:
Author Listed:
Gibbs, A. (1975, August 16). City, county leaders invited to White House conference. The News Tribune, A-1.
No Author Listed:
Mountaineers are pelted by rain. (1911, September 8). San Juan Islander, 1.
Newspaper Article from a Website:
Burglars continue on raids: Police reinforcements fail to stop them; homes are looted. (1920, November 12). The Seattle Star, 7. https://www.loc.gov/resource/sn87093407/1920-11-12/ed-1/?sp=7&st=image&r=-0.056,-0.027,0.633,0.366,0
Newspaper Article from Print or Microfilm:
Deckelnick, G. (2000, June 12). To avoid password, hit OK twice. The Olympian, A11.
The citation should include the author (if listed), article title, newspaper title, and publication date. If the author is not listed, the citation starts with the article title. If the name of the newspaper begins with "The," that word is not included. The city name should be added if it is not included in the newspaper title. Some newspapers have different editions, if an addition is listed it needs to be included. If the newspaper is online, a URL will need to be added at the end of the citation. If the newspaper is from a database, the name of the database needs to be included.
Examples:
Newspaper Article from a Newspaper Database:
Author Listed:
Footnote: Hill Williams, "Volcano Lava Dome Doubles in Height," Seattle Times, Jun. 18, 1980, NewsBank Seattle Times Collection with Historical Archives.
Shortened Footnote: Williams, "Volcano Lava Dome."
Bibliography: Williams, Hill. "Volcano Lava Dome Doubles in Height." Seattle Times, Jun. 18, 1980. NewsBank Seattle Times Collection with Historical Archives.
No Author Listed:
Footnote: "Professor Clayton Dead," Morning Review (Spokane Falls, W.T.), Jul. 6, 1889, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection.
Shortened Footnote: "Professor Clayton Dead."
Bibliography: "Professor Clayton Dead." Morning Review (Spokane Falls, W.T.), Jul. 6, 1889. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Collection.
Newspaper Article from a Website:
Footnote: "Employment Agencies Fleece Workingmen: Legitimacy of the Business Destroyed by a Few Rapacious Men," Labor Journal (Everett, WA), Apr. 15, 1909, https://washingtondigitalnewspapers.org/.
Shortened Footnote: "Employment Agencies Fleece."
Bibliography: "Employment Agencies Fleece Workingmen: Legitimacy of the Business Destroyed by a Few Rapacious Men." Labor Journal (Everett, WA), Apr. 15, 1909. https://washingtondigitalnewspapers.org/.
Newspaper Article from Print or Microfilm:
Footnote: "Report of Auditor of King Co.," The Northern Star (Snohomish City, W.T.), Oct. 12, 1878.
Shortened Footnote: "Report of Auditor."
Bibliography: "Report of Auditor of King Co." The Northern Star (Snohomish City, W.T.), Oct. 12, 1878.