Skip to Main Content

Newspapers of Washington State

Washington Digital Newspapers Program

Washington Digital Newspapers

Washington Digital Newspapers brings together over 750,000 pages from Washington's earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day. Freely accessible to the public, this growing collection compliments the Washington State Library's physical collection of more than 6,500 newspaper titles.

Newspaper digitization has been made possible through the National Digital Newspaper Program and with Library Services and Technology Act funding through the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

If you work with a Washington State library, historical society, or genealogical society and have newspapers you would like to digitize, please reach out to Shawn Schollmeyer, the Washington Digital Newspapers Coordinator, to learn more about our program and to see if we already have a digitization project in the works for the title you would like digitized.

Washington Newspapers Online by Title

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online. Not all of the newspapers below are through the Washington Digital Newspaper Project. The websites included below are Washington Digital Newspapers, Chronicling America, Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers, Pend Oreille County Library District, and Longview Public Library.

Newspaper Title Years Available County Newspaper Published City Newspaper Published Website(s) Newspaper is Available On
Aberdeen Herald 21 October 1890 - 29 June 1917 Grays Harbor Aberdeen

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Adams County News 2 February 1898 - 17 October 1906 Adams Ritzville

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Anacortes American 15 May 1890 - 27 December 2000 Skagit Anacortes Washington Digital Newspapers
The Black Lens 1 January 2015 - 1 January 2022 Spokane Spokane Washington Digital Newspapers
Cascadia Weekly 22 March 2006 - 22 December 2021 Whatcom Bellingham Washington Digital Newspapers
Cashmere Valley Record 16 February 1907 - 30 December 2020 Chelan Cashmere Washington Digital Newspapers
The Catholic Northwest Progress 21 December 1900 - 27 June 2013 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Cayton's Monthly 1 February 1921 - 1 March 1921 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Cayton's Weekly 14 July 1917 - 29 January 1921 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Cheney Free Press 1 January 1970 - 29 January 1970 Spokane Cheney Pend Oreille Library
Clallam County Journal 21 December 1934 - 26 December 1935 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archives of Clallam County Newspapers
The Co-Operative News 25 October 1917 - 20 June 1918 Snohomish Everett

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Colfax Gazette 5 January 1900 - 16 February 1912 Whitman Colfax

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Columbia Courier 27 March 1903 - 21 April 1905 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Columbian 11 September 1852 - 26 November 1853 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Colville Examiner 31 October 1907 - 30 December 1922 Stevens Colville

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Commonwealth 4 February 1911 - 9 April 1914 Snohomish Everett

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Commonwealth 2 November 1888 - 9 August 1889 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archives of Clallam County Newspapers
Coulee City Dispatch 26 May 1916 - 31 December 1942 Grant Coulee City

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Courier-Herald 5 November 1949 - 4 February 1950 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Daily Hub 26 October 1914 - 30 June 1916 Lewis Centralia

Washington Digital Newspapers

The Daily Intelligencer 5 June 1876 - 1 October 1881 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Daily Republican 26 February 1896 - 2 March 1896 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Dawn 4 August 1894 Kittitas Ellensburg

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Dawn 19 January 1895 - 11 March 1898 Kittitas Ellensburg

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Den Danske Kronike 23 September 1916 - 15 December 1917 Spokane Spokane Washington Digital Newspapers
The Democrat 7 October 1891 - 3 March 1893 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archives of Clallam County Newspapers
Democrat Leader 24 March 1893 - 23 October 1896; 3 January 1902 - 24 June 1905 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archives of Clallam County Newspapers
Dungeness Beacon 24 June 1892 - 23 June 1893 Clallam Dungeness Digital Archives of Clallam County Newspapers
Đất Mới = New Land 1 August 1975 - 1 January 1987 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
East Washingtonian 2 August 1884 - 28 December 1889 Garfield Pomeroy Washington Digital Newspapers
The Eatonville Dispatch 16 June 1916 - 29 December 2010 Pierce Eatonville Washington Digital Newspapers
Ellensburg Dawn 18 March 1898 - 25 December 1913 Kittitas Ellensburg

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Enterprise 8 October 1926 - 27 December 1928 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Evening Statesman 26 May 1903 - 16 April 1910 Walla Walla Walla Walla

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Evening Telegraph 9 August 1886 - 15 January 1887 Pierce Tacoma Washington Digital Newspapers
The Eye 11 July 1883 - 9 August 1890 Snohomish Snohomish Washington Digital Newspapers
The Eye 3 January 1893 - 29 December 1893 Snohomish Snohomish Washington Digital Newspapers

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online. Not all of the newspapers below are through the Washington Digital Newspaper Project. The websites included below are Washington Digital Newspapers, Chronicling America, Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers, Pend Oreille County Library District, and Longview Public Library.

Newspaper Title Years Available County Newspaper Published City Newspaper Published Website(s) Newspaper is Available On
Fairhaven Herald 11 March 1890 - 30 June 1893 Whatcom Fairhaven

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Filipino Forum 15 October 1928 - 10 December 1963 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Forks Forum 22 April 1965 - 17 June 1976; Some individual issues between 1946 - 1964. Clallam Forks Clallam County
The Herald 11 February 1891 - 30 September 1891 Clallam Port Angeles Clallam County
Industrial Freedom 7 May 1898 - 1 November 1901 Skagit Edison

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Islander 6 March 1891 - 17 February 1898 San Juan Friday Harbor

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

 

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online. Not all of the newspapers below are through the Washington Digital Newspaper Project. The websites included below are Washington Digital Newspapers, Chronicling America, Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers, Pend Oreille County Library District, and Longview Public Library.

Newspaper Title Years Available County Newspaper Published City Newspaper Published Website(s) Newspaper is Available On
The Kennewick Courier 28 April 1905 - 27 March 1914 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Kennewick Courier-Reporter 2 April 1914 - 28 July 1938 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers 

Chronicling America 

Kennewick Courier-Reporter 5 January 1939 - 28 October 1949 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Kennewick Courier-Reporter and the White Bluffs Spokesman 4 August 1938 - 29 December 1938 Benton Kennewick

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Labor Journal 7 January 1909 - 29 December 1922 Snohomish Everett

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Leavenworth Echo 29 January 1904 - 29 December 1922 Chelan Leavenworth

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Lewis County Advocate 21 February 1904 - 20 June 1902 Lewis Chehalis Washington Digital Newspapers
Longview Daily News 26 January 1923 - 24 May 1932 Cowlitz Longview Longview Public Library
Lynden Pioneer Press 16 October 1888 - 26 June 1890 Whatcom Lynden Washington Digital Newspapers
The Lynden Tribune 9 July 1908 - 28 December 1922 Whatcom Lynden

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Mason County Journal 17 May 1889 - 19 April 1901 Mason Shelton

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Model Commonwealth 19 November 1886 - 28 September 1888 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Monthly News of the Department of Washington 1 March 1943 - 1 June 1946 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Nespelem Tribune 8 August 1934 - 31 March 1936 Okanogan Nespelem

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Newport Miner 9 November 1907 - 26 December 1912 Pend Oreille Newport

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Newport Miner 30 June 1900 - 6 March 1980 Pend Oreille Newport Pend Oreille Library
The Newport Pilot 30 April 1897 - 26 February 1898 Stevens Newport Pend Oreille Library
The Nooksack Reporter 6 December 1907 - 27 November 1908 Whatcom Nooksack Washington Digital Newspapers
The Northern Star 15 January 1876 - 3 May 1879 Snohomish Snohomish

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Northwest Enterprise 25 March 1882 - 13 March 1886 Skagit Anacortes

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Northwest Enterprise 1 January 1931 - 4 April 1952 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Northwest Times 1 January 1947 - 23 March 1955 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Northwest Worker 1 July 1915 - 27 September 1917 Snohomish Everett

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Olympia Tribune 9 October 1891 - 29 December 1892 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Olympic 31 December 1904 - 30 June 1905 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Olympic Leader 14 July 1905 - 21 February 1913 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Olympic Tribune 5 January 1945 - 1 December 1962 Clallam  Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
The Oroville Weekly Gazette 1 January 1909 - 21 December 1923 Okanogan Oroville

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Overland Press 29 July 1861 - 30 April 1864 Thurston Olympia Washington Digital Newspapers

 

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online. Not all of the newspapers below are through the Washington Digital Newspaper Project. The websites included below are Washington Digital Newspapers, Chronicling America, Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers, Pend Oreille County Library District, and Longview Public Library.

Newspaper Title Years Available County Newspaper Published City Newspaper Published Website(s) Newspaper is Available On
The Pacific Tribune 14 May 1864 - 25 April 1868 Thurston Olympia Washington Digital Newspapers
Peninsula Herald 5 September 1968 - 11 December 1969 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Peoples Advocate 7 October 1892 - 25 July 1902 Lewis Chehalis Washington Digital Newspapers
People's Telegram 3 November 1864 - 21 November 1864 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Pioneer and Democrat 4 February 1854 - 31 May 1861 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Port Angeles Beacon 20 March 1986 - 3 April 1986 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Port Angeles Daily Herald 9 December 1915 - 16 September 1920 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Port Angeles Leader 7 March 1913 - 2 May 1913 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Port Angeles Olympic 11 March 1913 - 29 April 1913 Clallam  Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Port Angeles Olympic Leader 16 May 1913 - 27 December 1917 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Port Crescent Leader 12 February 1891 - 28 April 1892 Clallam Port Crescent Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
Puget Sound Argus 26 May 1882 - 24 May 1883 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Puget Sound Courier 19 May 1855 - 25 April 1856 Pierce Steilacoom Washington Digital Newspapers
Puget Sound Dispatch 4 December 1871 - 4 October 1880 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Puget Sound Herald 12 March 1858 - 7 November 1864 Pierce Steilacoom

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Puget Sound Mail 13 September 1879 - 23 February 1884 Skagit La Conner Washington Digital Newspapers
Puget Sound Semi-Weekly 5 April 1866 - 19 April 1866 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Puget Sound Weekly 30 April 1866 - 18 March 1867 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Puget Sound Weekly Argus 1 January 1876 - 12 May 1882 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Puget Sound Weekly Argus 31 May 1883 - 20 March 1884 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Puget Sound Weekly Argus 26 January 1888 - 19 December 1889 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Puget Sound Weekly Gazette 25 March 1867 - 17 June 1867 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Pullman Herald 3 November 1888 - 7 March 1924 Whitman Pullman

Washington Digital Newspapers

Pullman Herald 3 November 1888 - 29 December 1922 Whitman Pullman Chronicling America
The Ranch 20 January 1894 - 18 August 1894 Yakima Yakima

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Ranch 1 September 1902 - 1 June 1914 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Ranche and Range 8 April 1897 - 21 August 1902 Yakima Yakima

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Reformer's Dawn 1 November 1893 - 1 January 1894 Kittitas Ellensburg

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Republican 22 August 1896 - 17 June 1898 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Rocket 1 October 1979 - 18 October 2000 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
The San Juan Islander 24 February 1898 - 5 June 1914 San Juan Friday Harbor

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Scandinavian American 1 January 1945 - 1 December 1956 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Seattle Daily Post-Intelligencer 5 April 1882 - 10 May 1888 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Seattle Enterprise 14 May 1921 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Seattle Gay News 1 March 1977 - 28 December 2018 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
The Seattle Gazette 10 December 1863 - 4 June 1864 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
The Seattle Post-Intelligencer 11 May 1888 - 31 December 1900 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Seattle Republican 23 February 1900 - 2 May 1913 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Seattle Star 27 February 1899 - 2 July 1930 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

The Seattle Star 27 February 1899 - 9 December 1925 King Seattle Chronicling America
Seattle Union Record 24 April 1918 - 8 February 1922 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Seattle Weekly Gazette 6 August 1864 - 3 March 1866 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Skagit Valley Herald 2 January 1962 - 28 December 1962 Skagit Mount Vernon Washington Digital Newspapers
Snohomish Daily Sun 1 January 1891 Snohomish Snohomish Washington Digital Newspapers
Southwest Washington Labor Press 24 November 1922 - 22 April 1927 Grays Harbor Hoquiam

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Spokan Times 8 May 1879 - 29 April 1882 Spokane Spokane Washington Digital Newspapers
Spokane Falls Review 19 May 1883 - 25 December 1890 Spokane Spokane

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Spokane Press 7 November 1902 - 31 December 1910 Spokane Spokane

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Spokane Woman 23 September 1926 - 5 March 1931 Spokane Spokane

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Tacoma Times 21 December 1903 - 12 April 1943 Pierce Tacoma

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Truth Teller 3 February 1858 - 25 February 1858 Pierce Steilacoom Washington Digital Newspapers

This is an alphabetical list of Washington State newspapers that have been digitized and made available online. Not all of the newspapers below are through the Washington Digital Newspaper Project. The websites included below are Washington Digital Newspapers, Chronicling America, Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers, Pend Oreille County Library District, and Longview Public Library.

Newspaper Title Years Available County Newspaper Published City Newspaper Published Website(s) Newspaper is Available On
The Vancouver Independent 4 September 1875 - 27 March 1884 Clark Vancouver

Washington Digital Newspapers

The Vancouver Register 7 October 1865 - 9 October 1869 Clark Vancouver Washington Digital Newspapers
Vashon Island News 24 May 1907 - 17 June 1915 King Vashon

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Vashon Island News-Record 18 December 1919 - 31 August 1933 King Vashon

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Vashon Island Record 26 October 1916 - 11 December 1919 King Vashon

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Veterans News 1 July 1946 - 1 December 1947 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Veterans' Review 1 January 1936 - 1 March 1937 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Victory Worker 1 June 1942 - 2 October 1943 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Voice of Action 24 April 1934 - 28 June 1935 King Seattle

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Waitsburg Times 13 April 1883 - 10 July 1885 Walla Walla Waitsburg Washington Digital Newspapers
The Waitsburg Weekly Times 11 March 1882 - 6 April 1883 Walla Walla Waitsburg Washington Digital Newspapers
Walla Walla Statesman 2 September 1864 - 23 February 1884 Walla Walla Walla Walla

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Washington Farmer 15 June 1914 Spokane Spokane

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Washington Gazette 15 August 1863 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Washington Hellenic Review 1 June 1924 - 1 February 1936 King Seattle Washington Digital Newspapers
Washington Pioneer 3 December 1853 - 28 January 1854 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Washington Socialist 16 April 1914 - 24 June 1915 Snohomish Everett

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Washington Standard 18 November 1860 - 23 September 1921 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Washington State Journal 6 November 1907 - 26 December 1907 Adams Ritzville

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Washington State Journal and Adams County News 24 October 1906 - 30 October 1907 Adams Ritzville

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Washington Statesman 13 December 1861 - 26 August 1864 Walla Walla Walla Walla

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Weekly Argus 29 December 1870 - 25 December 1875 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Weekly Dawn 11 August 1894 - 12 January 1895 Kittitas Ellensburg

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

Weekly Herald 11 December 1915 - 15 January 1916 Clallam Port Angeles Digital Archive of Clallam County Newspapers
The Weekly Pacific Tribune 2 May 1868 - 30 March 1879 Thurston Olympia

Washington Digital Newspapers

(3 issues from 1870 are under The Pacific Tribune)

The Weekly Puget Sound Argus 24 December 1885 - 19 January 1888 Jefferson Port Townsend

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Wenatchee Daily World 3 July 1905 - 31 December 1910 Chelan Wenatchee

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

White Bluffs Spokesman 10 December 1915 - 22 July 1938 Benton White Bluffs

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The World 4 January 1899 King Seattle Chronicling America
The Yakima Herald 2 February 1889 - 2 October 1912 Yakima Yakima

Washington Digital Newspapers

Chronicling America

The Yakima Republic 1 January 1899 - 23 December 1904 Yakima Yakima Washington Digital Newspapers