Trustee Support Resources

http://www.ala.org/tools/programming/americans-disabilities-actLibrary Board By-laws

Rules under which the board will operate may include:

• The process used to select officers.
• Guidelines, including those for hiring and evaluating the library director.
• Responsibilities for board officers.
• Attendance requirements.
• Definition of a quorum.
• Conduct of meetings in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act. (See also Board Meetings).
• Recordkeeping requirements in accordance with the Public Records Act. (See also Public Records).
• Rules for public testimony.
• A code of ethics:

  Important note: Trustees are public servants, entrusted with public funds. The public expects, and laws require, that the conduct of trustees will always be above board and in the interest of the public good, not motivated by personal gain. Each board should adopt a code of ethics with a statement that defines conflict of interest for trustees and the legal liability of the board. The code should guide the conduct of board members. Review of the code should be a part of every new board member’s orientation.

  Note: The following should be consulted when drafting the Board’s code of ethics:

  • RCW 42.23: Code of Ethics for Municipal Officers - Contract Interests.
  • RCW 42.17A.555: Use of public office or agency facilities in campaigns.
  • Washington Constitution (Article VII, Section 1): Taxes are to be used for public purposes only; (Article VIII, Section 7): “Credit not to be loaned;” (Article XI, Section 14): “Private use of public funds prohibited;”
  • Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.
  • MRSC
    • Conflicts of Interest.
    • Knowing the Territory: Basic Legal Guidelines for Washington City, County and Special Purpose District Officials.
    • Sample Codes of Ethics
  • Public Disclosure Commission.
  • United for Libraries
    • Public Library Trustee Statement.
    • Sample Policies.

Day-to-day library operations

• Budgeting and fiscal controls:
  • Purchasing procedures for goods and services.
  • Levels of purchasing authority.
  • Use of organizational credit card.
  • Procedures for travel reimbursement, etc.
• Facilities:
  • Responsibility and procedures for maintenance.
  • Acquisition and ownership.
  • Insurance and liability.
  • Emergency preparedness:
    • Preparing for natural and manmade disasters:
      • CoSA (Council of State Archivists). Emergency Preparedness.
      • Ready.gov.
      • WESTPAS (Western States and Territories Preservation Assistance Service).
      • Dplan.
    • Business continuity planning (BCP):
      • Ready.gov - Business Continuity Planning Suite.
  • Use of equipment, vehicles, etc.—Note: These responsibilities may be retained by city authorities in municipal libraries. Optional Municipal Code City libraries usually follow city-established management policies and practices. (See also Library Trustees - Overview.) The Sample Policies/Procedures from MRSC address a number of issues related to internal policies.
• Personnel:
  Although the board hires only the library director, it is responsible for approving:
  • Position classifications for library staff (see “U.S. Department of Labor Emphasizes Enforcement of Fair Labor Standards Act Classifications: Are Your Employees Correctly Classified?” by Jennifer A. Parda);
  • Salaries and benefits schedules.
  • Policies governing:
    • Hours of operation.
    • Overtime.
    • Outside employment.
    • Political activity.
    • The right to organize.
    • Continuing education and professional development.
      • Sample policy - Pierce County Library System
    • Volunteers.
    • Use of work resources.
    • Sick leave.
    • Holidays.
    • Vacation.
    • Safety and health in the workplace:
      • Harassment.
      • Violence in the workplace.
  • Procedures to ensure there is a fair and legal process for library staff to file grievances.
  • Procedures to ensure there is a fair and legal process for library staff when they are:
    • Hired.
    • Evaluated.
    • Promoted.
    • Disciplined.
    • Laid off.
    • Terminated.

  Note: In some libraries, these issues may be addressed in a union contract. In that case, the library director is responsible for compliance.

  The Personnel section provides additional guidance on personnel issues.

Services and Programs

• Borrowing and lending:
  • Eligibility for borrowing and library services:
    • Resident.
    • Non-resident.
    • Fees, if applicable.
  • Circulation of materials:
    • Loan period and renewal.
    • Fines and damages.
    • Reserved materials.
    • Special collections.
    • Electronics (e.g., e-Readers, tablets, laptops, etc.).
  • Resource sharing (interlibrary loan).
• Community relations:
  • Partnerships:
    • Non-profits.
    • Schools.
    • Government entities.
    • Commercial enterprises.
  • Sponsorships.
  • Public relations.
  • Volunteers.
  • Friends' groups.
• Confidentiality of library records:
  • ALA provides additional guidance on the issue of privacy in the following online resources:
    • Policy on Confidentiality of Library Records.
    • Confidentiality and Coping with Law Enforcement Inquiries: Guidelines for the Library and its Staff.
    • Privacy: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights.
  • WLA includes Defending Privacy and Confidentiality among their Core Values.
  • See also RCW 42.56.310.
• Copyright and Fair Use:
  Libraries need to ensure that they are in compliance with copyright and licensing requirements, including notification of the public of their rights and obligations. The following resources provide further information on copyright and Fair Use:
  • ALA’s Copyright page - be sure to take a look at the Professional Tips Wiki - Copyright.
  • Copyright & Fair Use from Stanford University Libraries.
  • Copyright Resources & Links from the Kelvin Smith Library at Case Western Reserve University.
  • Fair Use Evaluator from ALA’s Office for Information Technology Policy.
  • University of Minnesota Fair Use Checklist Tool.
• Facilities:
  • Hours of operation.
  • Food, beverages, smoking.
  • Inappropriate behavior.
  • Unattended children & Vulnerable Adults.
    • Sample policy - Akron-Summit County Public Library
  • Displays—Note: ALA’s Interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights includes a statement on Exhibit Spaces and Bulletin Boards.
  • Meeting rooms—Note: ALA’s Interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights includes a statement on Meeting Rooms.
  • ADA compliance—Note: Resources may be found on ALA’s ADA and Libraries page.
  • Service animals.
  • Security—Note: Links to information may be found on ALA’s Safety and Security page. Mental Health First Aid USA provides information about identifying, understanding, and responding to psychiatric emergencies.
  • Use of library equipment (computers, printers, photocopiers, etc.).
  • Internet Use Policy:
    • ALA’s Guidelines for Developing a Library Privacy Policy.
    • Internet Use in Libraries
• Intellectual Freedom and Censorship:
  This section affirms the importance of intellectual freedom to the community that the library serves. It usually includes the Library Bill of Rights and other documents endorsed or adopted by the library's governing body. Other policies that relate closely to intellectual freedom issues are the gift policy, the display and exhibit policy, and the meeting room use policy.
  • ALA’s Intellectual Freedom Statements and Guidelines.
  • Library Bill of Rights from ALA.
  • Issues addressed in ALA’s Interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights including:
    • Access to Digital Information, Services, and Networks.
    • Free Access to Libraries for Minors. —Note: The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of ALA, offers numerous resources on providing library services to youth on their Professional Tools page.

  Washington state laws define moral nuisances and sexual exploitation of children. Even though the Obscenity and Pornography laws provide exemptions for libraries, there is potential that they might be cited in any formal complaint dealing with library materials:

  • RCW 7.48 - Nuisances.
  • RCW 9.68 - Obscenity and Pornography.
  • RCW 9.68A - Sexual Exploitation of Children (Formerly Child pornography).
• Programming and outreach:
  As with all policies, the programming and outreach policy should have a purpose and the ways in which it supports the library’s vision and mission should be clearly delineated. Remember to address the following:
  • Why - what is the policy for;
  • Who - who will be served by programming and outreach activities.
  • What - what types of activities are included in the policy.
  • Who - who oversees the program.
• Reference services:
  • Confidentiality.
  • Service priorities.
  • Disclaimer regarding medical and legal reference.